Yesterday I told Moshe i had got three jobs. One of them was djing at a party(so i was told by my boss on the phone).
Moshe called me a "fucking ugly idiot" and he said that that wasn't a propper job. I disagreed...But Unfortunately I get it now...
Let me tell you something about my record collection:
-When I was 14 i wanted to dj, went to some parties and played some shit. Decided i needed to buy good records. I went to a record shop in Lisbon and a pretty old gizer(40 years old) had a box with records in it and was talking to the owner. The owner was offering him 1000 euros. For some fortunate reason I offered 1500 euros (Yes it is a lot but fastly amortized). About 30 or 40 records are in there and I have never shown it to anyone. The records are rare and good, I dont know the artists. The old guy told me some were made by him and others were just rare but all of them were immortal songs. They're all in the range of techno maybe some trance. And I only play them at big parties.
So yesterday I got a phonecall from someone i still dont know the name saying that he liked what he saw at a bar a week ago where i played some commercial shit for girls to dance. And that he wanted me to dj at a party. He fixed up a car to pick me up at 1 am at a certain place...
Now this car was a fucking BMW M5 with two tvs on the back of the head supports of the front seats. I couldn't believe it. We drove for like 20 minutes, the driver didnt even say hi or talked to me.
Once we got there..I realised that my concept of party is not the same as my bosse's... It was fuuucking huge then! More than a 1000 people inside a big tent, it was huge! And I had with myself like 10 cds with some commercial bollocks. My boss met me and told me I'd be on in 10 minutes - No fucking way i told him. i need to go get my records. So he talked to the dj who was supposed to finish off the night to replace my shift. He threw me some car keys and told me to come fast.
Yes...it was the M5 key's. Nah...don't have a drivers license, but again it's Portugal. No one really cares whether you have it or not. can you drive? Good, all that matters.
Got my records and came back. I was really nervous cause i hadn't played for such a crowd in years. The guy takes me to this smaller tent where about 20 people could sit and relax. There were mainly girls innit talking to some guys 2 of them were djs. There also was a small table with a metal plate with a pile of blow on it...
No fucking comments.
I ignored it and started sorting the records by BPM's(beats per minute). While I was doing this right at the bottom of the box there was a record in a white thing that said "Gold". Never saw it and never heard it.
My boss came and told me that I was lucky to have the last shift and if i did not do a good job, he would be "angry".
After this i had 5 shots of absynth and sat down.
At like 3:30 this girl comes and sits literally on me and french kisses me til i pushed her away. "You're on, come with me"
I did. The other dj was playing something i didnt like and was in my opinion too heavy. I greeted everyone to mark my presence and then heard on the phones the "gold" record intro, was alright. Put an echo on the other dj's record and slowly fade it to gold.
Then magic fucking happened.
There was this torning brake in the beat that was followed by a rising happy and comfy tune with a heavenly beat that i loved and everyone else loved!!! It was crazy.
From then til 7:30 am I played the records from the collection and some other stuff i had. For two times a guard stopped people from coming to my stand. Everyone seemed to like it. Perhaps it was shit, but everyone might have been too drugged.
Straight after I finished the dj before me offered me 200 euros for the first record i played the "Gold". i said fuck you.
Then, my boss came with an envelope and told me he'd ring me. Got a ride with the driver i didnt know home on the same M5.
----
Djing is easy. You get the beats right, you play the records beat on beat, you fuck around with the faders and knobs, you use some effects if theres is a device for that. But the essence of it, is just pressing a play button.
However you should do it with your own momento. And the records you choose should be appropriate and good. i think I did a good job.
Now... was it worth 200 euros for 3 or 4 hours of pressing play buttons and fucking around with faders? Moreover 200 euros of fucking coke money?!
I feel like shit, i really do and wanna burn that money and I don't think I'll dj again at least not for coke money and not in such an environment as last time.
---
Thank you Moshe you were right - I'm a fucking ugly idiot.
P.s: What to do with the coke money? I feel like shit cause i have it.
Tuesday, 10 July 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment